Gmail redesign could feature self-destructing emails

Share

It is believed that Google is working on a lock icon to activate the mode that will be introduced with the new design of the Gmail.

Google last overhauled Gmail's web look in 2011, opting for a more spaced-out, cleaner look as part of an effort to unify the way its products appear on desktop and mobile.

You'll also be able to send emails in "Confidential Mode", which will block the recipient from forwarding, copying and pasting, downloading, or printing the email.

According to the screenshot, one can set an expiry date for as long as 5 years.

Apple's facilities now completely run on clean energy
The company says it has also made headway with its manufacturing partners and suppliers, though there's still some way to go. Google had purchased a sizeable amount of renewable energy in 2017 to cover all of its electricity consumption world-wide.

Working on an email service is hard as you have to be compatible with all sorts of email providers and email clients. Other new features are expected to include the ability to snooze emails, and Google Inbox-style automations that pull out relevant content such as order tracking numbers. This may mean that people in other services will be able to read the email, but only if they also have a Google account. Also, the new feature will be smoothly embedded in the compose screen of the Gmail website which will make it easier for the users to switch to the "Confidential Mode".

Gmail will have a so-called Confidential Mode, a system created to secure the important emails that users send and that should not reach other mailboxes. This feature which is gaining attention from all the big tech giants hasn't been left out by the Gmail team and is possibly ready to be pushed ahead to the users. Recipients will then receive an e-mail that requires them to click a link and input their Google credentials to view the e-mail.

As revealed by The Verge, the Gmail update is about more than just giving the email service a new coat of paint. Gmail's expiring email will essentially become unreadable after some time. This allows users to temporarily hide an email so that they can open it at a later time. The Confidential Mode further prohibits the emails to be copied, printed or forwarded. That's right, Google is taking a page out of the "Mission Impossible" playbook with this feature, which should be helpful when sending sensitive or confidential information over email that could potentially end up in the wrong hands. The new Gmail will allow for that, too.

Share