Instagram Archive and Highlights make your Stories permanent

Share

The archive feature is created to automatically save your stories once it expires after 24 hours.

Instagram today announced two new features and both of them have to do with the Stories.

With Stories Highlights, however, comes an entirely new section on user profiles. From there, choose any stories from your archive, select a cover for your highlight and name it.

One of the updates is a feature that will automatically archive users' Stories after they expire. "Stories Highlights" is a new part of your profile where you can express more of who you are through stories you've shared, whereas "Stories Archive" privately saves your Stories for viewing them later.

Right now, the grid of photos on each user's profile functions kind of like a scrapbook of moments, whereas the ephemeral Stories are more for live updates, but these new features bridge that gap.

Instagram is ramping up its battle with Snapchat. You can add them to your main feed, for instance, or use them to add to the highlights section of your profile - alternatively, you can turn off the archive feature entirely.

Instagram launches biggest change to profiles in years, adding new stories and archive features
Instagram finally lets you save Stories so people can enjoy them forever

And for good reason - part of the company's reasoning behind Stories in the first place (besides competing with Snapchat, that is) was that users were so exacting about what was on their profile that they weren't posting almost as often as Instagram wanted.

The new update seeks to address those problems by allowing people to hold onto their stories once they are posted.

Instagram is working on several other new features, and reportedly inviting people to test the beta version of its Android and iOS apps.

While it may seem a little weird to have two new features centered around making stories last longer, that's exactly what Archive and Highlights do. Previously, messages posted to Stories disappeared forever after a day. From there, you can add it to your story, share it as a post or add it to a highlight on your profile. There's no limit to how many you can add, but if you get exhausted of a particular highlight you can delete it or edit it.

To check out your expired stories, tap the archive icon in the top-right corner of your profile.

If you want to remove just a certain photo in your highlight, choose Edit Highlight and scroll through the images. Users will receive a notification when Stories Archives kicks in, letting them opt out of the feature.

Judge refuses to free four Catalan leaders as elections near
Puigdemont would be arrested if he went to Spain, he said. The charges carry maximum penalties of decades in prison. Bekaert said legal proceedings in Belgium were now over.

Share